First apple pressing of the season

20130930-113717.jpg
I got down to my first serious apple pressing of the season this weekend: about 300 kilos of Windsors and Grenadiers from the orchards of Bob Thompson in Chainhurst.

We made 50 litres last weekend from Discovery apples but this was the first real test of my new hydropress and mill.

Have to say I’m delighted with the results. Even working on my own I got through the apples in no time. Indeed, in time to get down to Dungeness to catch my first codling of the coming Winter.

I’ll be pressing the same again this weekend. Then we’ll be looking to order some apples by the ton and I’ll really see what this new press is made of.

One thought on “First apple pressing of the season

Leave a Reply

